Casita Maria


create * achieve * explore

CASITA Presents with Bronx River Art Center: Independent Artists

Independent Artists

Originally uploaded by CasitaMaria

On Saturday June 19th at 4:30PM please join us for a FREE traditional African dance performance by Independent Artists, a multicultural dance group.

Independent Artists:
Sandra Passirani – Dancer
Nathalie Dispagne – Dancer
Jenny Efremova – Dancer
Myriam Gadri – Dancer
Julien Kanor – Dancer
Myriam Salmon – Dancer

Independent Artists are a multicultural dance group whose members hail from Europe, Africa, and the Caribbean. Avid participants of modern, urban, and African dance forms, they met as members of N’zassa, a New York-based Nigerian dance company. Independent Artists’ members are Jenny Efremova, Sandra Passirani, Nathalie Dispagne, Myriam Gadri, Julien Kanor, and Myriam Salmon. They have studied, interpreted, and danced on stages around the world. The members have a distinct understanding of the spiritual evolution of West African dance forms, through performance, academic study, and teaching. Whether through ritual or presentation, their global backgrounds give the audience an experience that expands beyond choreography. The members aspire to continue the spiritual evolution of African dance into the future.


Filed under: bronx community

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

We Are

Jacqueline Weld Drake

Chairman Emeritus
Norrisa O’Keeffe

Vice Chairman
Benigno Rodriguez-Cubeñas

Mario Buccellati, II

John E. Avery

Nancy Barry
John L. Bernbach
Martha Bograd
Elizabeth A. Caldas
Ambassador Paul L. Cejas
Gaetana Enders
Miguel A. Fuentes, Jr.
Alan G. Levin
Alberto Mariaca
Alberto Mejia
Liliana Melo de Sada
Violy McCausland Seve
Joseph Unanué, Sr.
Saundra Whitney
Michael L. Ziegler, Esq.

Chairman’s Council
Daniel Brodsky
Patricia Phelps de Cisneros
Anne Eisenhower Flöttl
Wolfgang K. Flöttl
Sergio Millerman
Frank T. Modica
Lewis S. Ranieri
Pilar Crespi Robert

Executive Director
Sarah Calderon

%d bloggers like this: